

European Physical Society Interdivisional Group on Accelerators



Announcement of the Winners of the 2004 Accelerator Prizes awarded by the European Physical Society Interdivisional Group on Accelerators (EPS-IGA)

Following the meeting of the EPS-IGA 2004 Prize Selection Committee chaired by Dr. Steve Myers of CERN on 20 February 2004, the 2004 Accelerator Prizes are awarded as follows.

The prizes will be awarded and the award winners will make oral presentations of their work during the 9th European Particle Accelerator Conference, EPAC'04, on Thursday 8 July 2004 at the Lucerne Congress Centre (KKL), Lucerne, Switzerland.

The Prize for an individual in the early part of his or her career, having made a recent significant, original contribution to the accelerator field, is awarded to

Vladimir Shiltsev, FNAL, Batavia

"For many important contributions to accelerator physics which include theory, beam simulations, hardware development, hardware commissioning and beam studies. In particular for his pioneering work on electron-lens beam-beam compensation."

The prize for an individual for outstanding work in the accelerator field is awarded to

Igor Meshkov, JINR, Dubna

"For seminal contributions to numerous advances in accelerator science over the past 40 years. In particular for his development and implementation of the techniques which allowed the original brilliant idea of electron cooling to become a hardware reality and an accelerator tool. In addition for his devotion to and promotion of international collaboration in accelerator physics."

Useful Links:

EPS-IGA Home Page: http://epac.web.cern.ch/EPAC/EPS-IGA/

Announcement of 2004 Prize Winners:

http://epac.web.cern.ch/EPAC/EPS-IGA/Accelerator Prizes/2002 Laureates.htm

Past Winners EPS-IGA Prizes:

http://epac.web.cern.ch/EPAC/EPS-IGA/Accelerator_Prizes/EPS-IGA_Prize_Winners.htm

EPAC'04 Conference Home Page: http://www.epac04.ch/