Search :





Joint  Institute  for  Nuclear  Research


 V i c t o r  M a t v e e v 

At its session held on 25 March 2011, the Committee of Plenipotentiaries of the Governments of the JINR Members States elected Professor Victor Matveev as next Director of the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research for a term of five years, taking office on 1 January 2012.

Victor Matveev - Doctor of Physics and Mathematics, Professor, Academician of the Russian Academy of Sciences..

Born: 11 December 1941; Taiga, Novosibirsk Region, USSR


1959–1964  Far East State University, Faculty of Physics and Mathematics; Leningrad State University, Faculty of Physics
1967  PhD in Physics and Mathematics (“Dispersion sum rules and symmetry properties of elementary particles”)
1973  Doctor of Physics and Mathematics (“Quasipotential scattering theory in quantum field theory”)
Since 1980  Professor, Theoretical Physics
Since 1991  Professor Emeritus, M. Lomonosov Moscow State University
Since 1991  Corresponding Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences
Since 1994  Full Member of the Russian Academy of Sciences

Professional activities:

1965–1978  Postgraduate Researcher, Junior Researcher, Senior Researcher, Acting Head of Sector, Laboratory of Theoretical Physics of the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research
1976–1977  Leader, JINR Physicists’ Group at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (USA)
Since 1978  Deputy Director for Research, Institute for Nuclear Research of the USSR Academy of Sciences
Since 1987  Director, Institute for Nuclear Research of the Russian Academy of Sciences
Since September 2011  Acting Director of the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research

Educational activities:

1980–1992  Professor, Chair of Quantum Statistics and Field Theory of the Faculty of Physics, Moscow State University (MSU)
Since 1992  Professor, Chair of Quantum Theory and High Energy Physics of the Faculty of Physics, MSU
(Course “Introduction to Elementary Particle Physics”)
Since 1995  Head of Chair “Fundamental Interactions and Cosmology” of the Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology

Science organization activities:

Since 1992  Member, Scientific Council of the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research
Since 1992  Member, Editorial Board of the Journal “Nuclear Physics”
1996–2000; 2004  Member, Council of the Russian Foundation for Basic Research
Since 1996  Chairman, Board of the Russia and Dubna Member States Collaboration in the CMS experiment at CERN’s LHC
Since 1996  Member of the RAS Presidium, Deputy Academician-Secretary of the RAS Nuclear Physics Division
Since 1996  Chairman, Presidium of the RAS Troitsk Science Centre
Since 1998  Member, Particle and Nuclear Astrophysics and Gravitation International Committee (PaNAGIC) of the
International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP)
Since 1999  Member, Presidium of the Russian Higher Attestation Commission
Since 2000  Head of the RAS Presidium Fundamental Research Programme “Neutrino Investigations”
Since 2008  Academician-Secretary of the RAS Physical Sciences Division

Research interests:
Elementary particle physics, theoretical and mathematical physics. Methods of quantum field theory in the development of relativistic quark models of hadrons, searches for dynamical symmetries in high energy physics and detection on their basis of general regularities which are manifested in particle interactions

Scientific works:
Author of more than 300 scientific papers, co-author of the discovery “Regularities of large-angle elastic hadron scattering at high energies –– Matveev–Muradyan–Tavkhelidze quark counting rules”
Prizes, honours and awards:
Lenin Komsomol Prize in Science and Technology (1973), Lenin Prize (1988) for a series of studies “New quantum number –– colour and establishment of dynamical regularities in the quark structure of elementary particles and atomic nuclei”, Russian Federation State Prize in Science and Technology “For the construction of the Baksan neutrino observatory and research in the field of neutrino astrophysics, particle physics and cosmic rays” (1998), Russian Government Prize “For the development, construction and commissioning for scientific exploitation of the high-current linear proton accelerator of the Moscow Meson Factory” (2000), Order of Honour (1999), Order “For Service to the Fatherland”, IV degree (2007), medals, twice awarded with the Moscow Region Governor’s badge of honour “Thank you”, listed in the Moscow Region’s Book of Fame, title “Honored Scientist of the Moscow Region” (1999), title “Honorary Professor of Moscow State University” (2000), title “Honorary Citizen of Troitsk” (2001).


ŠJoint Institute for Nuclear Research